This weekend I had the pleasure of attending a very enjoyable barbecue. We brought golden trout covered in olive oil, salt, and pepper to grill and use for fish tacos. Weingut Weegmuller’s 2006 rosé from the Pfalz region of Germany was delicious with the tacos, which also contained shredded cabbage and Tapatio.

Typically my opinion is that wine doesn’t make the best pairing with Mexican food, but rather Mexican beer does a better job of washing down the the spicy and savory pieces of seafood and land animal parts. For instance, a tripa taco or two and cold bottle of Bohemia is one of my favorite meals. In this case however, the slight sweetness of the rosé offset the spiciness of the Tapitio and the crisp acidity complemented the trout. The idea that a German wine would pair well with Mexican food is funny to me, only because I’ve had “Mexican” food in Germany and the effort had gone pretty far amiss.

However, in the wine-pairing world, German Riesling is generally the go-to wine for all spicy cuisines — Chinese, Indian, Thai, etc. Again, my opinion is that beer is a superior match for those dishes.  Although I’ve had some of my happiest moments eating Sichuan food in Manhattan and washing it down with off-dry Riesling, it isn’t one of those successful pairings where the food is better because of the wine, and the wine is better because of the food. The cold dishes like tripe and tendon or widowed rabbit drenched in chili oil sort of end up reducing the the fine (and expensive) Riesling to a Sprite.

